Foundation of Leadership [11.01.2012]

Have you known somebody that always point out either their flaws or  your flaws, or that they’re somebody who isn’t good or strong at anything? Well, to be honest, I have known plenty of people like that.  Strength, the quality or state of being strong, is hard to identify but when you put a lot of effort into it and start thinking about your strengths, you’ll soon come to a conclusion. The Strength Quest online testing and book was a big, major help for me. I was able to observe each of my strengths afterwards. To know what I have gotten better with and what I need to still improve on. The three basic, yet hard steps to growing both yourself and your relationship with others is by having self-understand, being a good stewardship, and serving others. 

Self-understanding, the ability to understand one’s own actions, is hard to determine without taking any action but if you have a good understanding of what your strengths are then you could better them. Throughout the whole first half semester at North Central University as a college freshman, I was able to know what my strengths were which allowed me to use them even more. I have always been using my top five strengths unconsciously until I took the online test only to realize that I am strong on these five strengths. I have made many friends, diverse or not, by including others and just being very consistent with everyone. I like to encourage others and make them feel good about themselves by also being just a very positive person, enthusiastic. Also, I like it when there are less problems therefore I make sure everything is solved right away. Honestly, I still need to grow more on being an includer. I tend to be very shy, which I’m definitely working on it, so I want to improve on allowing others into my life in a very warm, welcoming way. Having great self-understanding is very effective. It helps you know what you can do and how you can help others with when standing in that leadership position, or not. “Being lost is a dreadful experience. One of the most motivating aspects of a strengths quest is the increased sense of direction that comes as you gain a greater understanding of who you are (Clifton, Anderson, and Schreiner 15).” 
To become a better steward in this life, I want to better myself by feeling safe with those around me and my community along with being happy as each day comes and go. Having great, close friendships that will influence me in a good way by helping me in the long-term, both physically and my career life. Being a college student is hard especially when you have to limit yourself so much that sometimes it’s hard to meet your needs and desires to continue on but to know that it will not buy you happiness makes it even better. Just to know how to manage my finance, relationships, staying healthy, to feel secure, and to just wake up every morning knowing that it will be another good day is enough already to become a better steward. Greater stewardship doesn’t help you to become a better person but as a leader. Everyone is a leader. When you are being a good steward, people see the goodness in you. They see that you are a positive person and that you are a great leader, someone they can depend on. If you are not a good steward, nobody will want to be influence by you. With you being a good steward helps many meet their needs and desires. “If you lead or manage people, your actions have a direct impact on the well-being of others (Rath, Harter 133).”
One way my understanding of serving others has developed so far is by getting know my “flock.” To be able to get to know them and understand them day by day has made it easier for both me and them to identify one another. To be able to stand up for them and fight for them so that they know that you have their back as well. Regardless, I have continue to love, cherish, and just have the heart for them. I have also been able to keep each and one of my “sheeps” accountable by making sure they stay on track if they do get distracted by things that are not going to benefit them. One thing that I have to grow and improve on is discipline. It’s hard for me to discipline someone but to be able to discipline them helps not just me but them as well. I want to discipline them as a teaching opportunity. It’s to help make them grow as well. If you don’t have good discipline ways, you will not be a good leader or student. Disciplining doesn’t make you a bad person. It’s to show that you have good leadership skills and that you are a strong person. You don’t let others trample over you and your “sheeps.” You’re paying the price by taking action. “Great leadership comes at a price that too few are willing to take (Leman, Pentak 111).” 
To be able to become a good shepherd to others, be willing to understand who you are, your strengths, by being a good steward, and serving others by stepping out of your comfort zone. Hence, show that you are worthy enough to be followed. Improve your strengths and show it. Allow yourself to come out and be true to both yourself and others as well. Be willing to come out of your shell and love others through words of affirmation and actions.